Ubiquitous Arthropod

Hey guys! This post will be dedicated to my capsule collection, Ubiquitous Arthropod that I have done in the past five months. I will give a little explanation about the processes that I have done in this collections, the trial and errors that I have faced and how the collection came to be.

capsule-collection-mood-board
Ubiquitous Arthropod: Mood Board

Ubiquitous Arthropod is a collection  inspired by insects, aiming at a rather casual style rather than evening style. Through making this collection, I have developed how I design with making collages to figure out new silhouette that did not even crossed my mind.

capsule-color-board
Ubiquitous Arthropod: Colour Board

The colours that I chose, I did realise that it make a very dark mood but using bright colours is a bit difficult for me. This might be a challenge for me to face in the next collection I might do.

I didn’t find any difficulties with my fabric since I already know the fabric that I want to use for this collection. I use wools, duchess, lycra, knits, a textured shiny fabric and a thick stretch fabric, just for the duchess I use the wrong side because it does not have much shine.

20161212_212321
Burnt organza sample

I did face quite a hard time to figure out the fabric manipulation I can use for this collection. I did samples while working on my first look, I tried using the bright colours that I am not familiar with for the embroidery yet it did not work. After finishing my first look’s jacket, I did the burnt organza sample, I feel that it works with the jacket and the inspiration so I decided to use it.

After finishing with my first look, again, I face a hard time with the fabric manipulation for the second look. I tried to use the burnt organza but it destroys the balance of the piece, I made samples of the burnt organza combined with beading but it still didn’t work. So, I decided to use embroidery of insect wing’s pattern and it turns out well.

20161212_212342
Embroidery 2 sample

For the third look, I thought that it might be better to use the burnt organza again to connect with the first look, but it didn’t work as well. In the end I use the same embroidery from the second look on the shoulder panel and decided that the burnt organza is not suitable for menswear.

20161209_163206
Third look burnt organza manipulation trial

For the fourth look, because I have an interesting side seam and I want to emphasise it I use the embroidery and make it look fading.

Here are the illustrations of the whole looks of Ubiquitous Arthropod.

1527270-1-presentation-slides-compressed-dragged
Ubiquitous Arthropod: Illustrations

That’s all for my capsule collection, I learned a lot from this and I hope I can improve much more in the next collections.

I will post my entries for the Levi’s Made and Crafted Design Competition and the Artyzen Habitat Competition in the next posts. See you!

Leave a comment