Capsule Collection

Ossu guys! This term I have to design a capsule collection, consisting of 6 looks that I will make the toile or prototype for in this term and the real garment in the next term. This post will be about the research for my inspiration.

I started with thinking of several inspirations, which is insect, two faces (idea of everything having two opposite sides), Japanese traditional culture (i.e. dance: Nihon Buyo, Noh Mai, & Kabuki – culture: Sado), witch hunt or Madonna Oriente, and phobias. These inspirations are what comes to my mind but my final decision is insect, because it is easier to implement and develop them into my designs.

So, a little bit about insect. Insects are a class of invertebrates within the arthropod phylum that have exoskeleton made of chitin, a thin and hard semi transparent material. Anatomically they have three body parts, head, thorax, and abdomen, three pairs of jointed legs, compound eyes, and one pair of antennae. There are about 926,400 species that have been described and there might be many more that haven’t been discovered. Insects undergo metamorphosis, starting their life as an egg that develops into either a nymph (small insect) or larva that then develops into a pupa (cocoon), which then develop into an imago (adult insect). There are different kinds of insects and they are divided into orders, which is:

  • Beetles
  • Butterflies
  • Flies
  • Ants, bees, & wasps
  • True bugs
  • Grasshoppers, dragonflies, & damselflies
  • Phasmatodea (camouflage insects)

After researching about insects, I went on to see other designer’s work that uses the same inspiration and when it comes to insect as inspiration, Thierry Mugler’s 1997 “Insect Woman” is what first comes to mind. The collection itself uses the concept of hybrid body, with the padded shoulder and wasp-like waist it shows the collection’s inspiration literally. It is beautifully grotesque and well structured that it becomes an iconic collection. “Insect Woman” become an example of how apparent the inspiration is translated into the design.

The second collection that I look into was Thierry Mugler’s 2012 collection by Nicola Formichetti. The collection have an exaggerated silhouette for the shoulder and hip, with body con paired with cocoon shaped overlays, the collection show how to use the inspiration not so literal or obviously.

I have been wanting to make insect as my inspiration for a while, they fascinate me but personally I don’t really like insects. So, from this research I will begin to do some sketches, do some consultation and see which sketches that is chosen that later on I will sew. See you in my next post!

Leave a Reply

