SDC Competition: Zusammenfassen

Ossu guys! This year the Society of Dyers and Colourists Competition is open, I decided to participate in it and it will also be in my portfolio. When I submitted the project, I haven’t give it a name, so I have decided to name it Zusammenfassen, it is German for combine. The competition requires the collection to be sustainable with the theme of ‘Making it Personal’.

sdc-moodboard
Zusammenfassen Mood Board

The inspiration for Zusammenfassen comes from Gerhard Richter’s abstract painting form 1979. The painting was build up of cumulative layers of non-representational painting that evolves along the way, using blurring and scraping to veil and expose the layers underneath.

From this inspiration, I made a fabric metamorphosis using scraps fabric from my previous works and what I can gather. I start with cutting the scraps into long pieces and arrange them on top of a water soluble stabiliser. After I am finish with arranging them I fold the stabiliser and pin it to hold the scraps together. The next step is to sew them, here I use different coloured threads and mix zig zag stitches, after I am finish sewing and making sure that there is no dangling scraps, I washed out the stabiliser with water and dry the fabric out.

SDC colorboard.jpg
Zusammenfassen Colour Board

The colour story for the collection is taken from the fabric metamorphosis and I added blue to make the colour more contrasting.

The instruction from SDC is to just submit one illustration, but I was thinking of making it unisex so I made two design, one man and one woman. So, here’s the illustration and the technical drawing of the design.

Illustration SDC.jpg
Zusammenfassen Illustrations and Technical Drawings

Although I didn’t make it to the regional heats, I have gained a lot of experience and lessons from this competition. I have never design a sustainable collection before and furthermore the theme was quite difficult to apply to the design so I really learned a lot from this competition. That’s all for this post, see you in the next post!

Leave a Reply

